Message from the President

Aichi University of the Arts opened in 1966 with the mission of contributing to the cultural enrichment and development of the region, as well as creating a distinctive cultural sphere in central Japan--namely the Chubu region centering on Aichi Prefecture--where the local industry and economy were undergoing remarkable growth at the time. The campus was built on the outskirts of Nagoya City, among the sparsely-populated, rolling hills of Nagakute. The choice of this bucolic location reflects the founders' faith in artistic independence and in the purity of art education, and has provided an ideal activity base for communities of artists.
Art is based on the individual, and as such, admiration for art is at the same time respect for individual human beings. Since its founding, Aichi University of the Arts has based its education on personal or small-group guidance. The student population, including both art and music students, is less than 1,000, whereas the number of faculty members includes over 80 full-time instructors in addition to numerous part-time instructors. This environment is conducive to encouraging the individuality of each student, and to realizing an education for promoting superior artistic quality. International exchange is an ongoing, long-term commitment of this university. We have in place a range of exchange partnership agreements with overseas art universities based on the university principle of "Becoming an artistic and cultural hub open to the international community," and international exchange programs include an Artist in Residence program, which involves actively inviting overseas artists to our campus. Since 2012 we have also started sending our students to overseas partner institutions for periods of study abroad.
These efforts have resulted in many outstanding graduates who are pursuing artistic and cultural careers as artists, scholars and educators. Many are active not only in Japan but internationally, and some are based overseas.
Aichi University of the Arts is also actively involved in the local community and in society. The opera concert hosted by the university each December is a prime example of a project that leverages the strengths of an art university comprising both a Faculty of Art and a Faculty of Music. In 2013, as in 2010, many of our faculty members and students are looking forward to performing or exhibiting in the Setouchi Triennale, Aichi Triennale and many other off-campus artistic and cultural events.
Another important mission as an art university is the conservation and restoration of cultural artifacts. Aichi University of the Arts has undertaken commissions to create reproductions of nearly 60 ancient works of art, including the twelve large murals from the Kondo main hall of Horyuji Temple. The completed reproductions are currently housed at the university. The university is looking forward to planning further conservation and restoration activities.
The goal of Aichi University of the Arts is to become an ideal art university, equipped with the capabilities to create, as well as preserve.

Koji Matsumura



Koji Matsumura


Born in 1948 in Nara Prefecture. Graduated from the Faculty of Art, Aichi University of the Arts in 1972. Completed a master's course at the Graduate School of Fine Arts, Aichi University of the Arts in 1974. Specializes in Japanese painting (Nihonga). Became an assistant at Aichi University of the Arts in 1983, a lecturer in 1986, associate professor in 1994, and professor in 2000. Served on the board of trustees from 2005 to 2006. Became the 9th president of Aichi University of the Arts in 2013.

matsumura02.jpg Sekishun (Lamenting the Passing of Spring), 2006,
color on Japanese paper, 4-panel folding screen, 364 x 171 cm

List of Successive Presidents

First President UENO, Naoteru April 1, 1966 to June 3, 1972
Second President KOZUKA, Shinichiro June 4, 1972 to Sptember 5, 1977
Third President TOYOOKA, Masuto December 1, 1977 to November 30, 1983
Fourth President KONO, Takashi December 1, 1983 to November 30, 1989
Fifth President TATEHATA, Yoshikado December 1, 1989 to November 30, 1995
Sixth President KAWAKAMI, Makoto December 1, 1995 to March 31, 2001
Seventh President SHIMADA, Shozo April 1, 2001 to March 31, 2007
Eighth President ISOMI, Teruo April 1, 2007 to March 31, 2013
Nineth President MATSUMURA, Koji April 1, 2013 to present